Access Violation?
Maybe an admin issue like not having enough rights to run the application. _________________ SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection: Nod buildings
Also Known As: banshee_revora (Steam) Joined: 15 Aug 2002 Location: Brazil
Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 10:25 pm Post subject:
Are you using the latest version (3.38 beta 6)? And what kind of .SHP files is it messing up with? TD or TS ones? And finally, are you trying to save these files inside Program Files or some kind of protected directory (Windows 7 might be a pain in the ass with these things)? QUICK_EDIT
Joined: 26 Apr 2003 Location: Somewhere in Germany
Posted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 10:09 am Post subject:
Since I have similar issues, I'll answer as well.
Banshee wrote:
Are you using the latest version (3.38 beta 6)?
Yes.
Banshee wrote:
And what kind of .SHP files is it messing up with? TD or TS ones?
TD definitely (XCC Mixer and OpenRA crash hard on them), TS sometimes too (visual corruption of files produced by XCC Mixer, since zaaz' changes sometimes the files saved by SHP builder crash OpenRA/XCC, too).
Banshee wrote:
And finally, are you trying to save these files inside Program Files or some kind of protected directory (Windows 7 might be a pain in the ass with these things)?
No. All my modding stuff is located on partition E.
It should be noted that SHP Builder itself can usually re-load shps that crash OpenRA/XCC just fine, so this is most likely an issue with how SHP Builder writes the file header. QUICK_EDIT
Are you using the latest version (3.38 beta 6)? And what kind of .SHP files is it messing up with? TD or TS ones? And finally, are you trying to save these files inside Program Files or some kind of protected directory (Windows 7 might be a pain in the ass with these things)?
Well... Yes i'm using the newest version of OS SHP Builder, saddly I lost many of my work in .shp files because corruption...
I'll put a damaged file that I got:
techcen.shp
Description:
There's a example... Also I got similar problem with the gates there exist here on PPM (Allied, Yuri, Soviet)
Also Known As: banshee_revora (Steam) Joined: 15 Aug 2002 Location: Brazil
Posted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 7:36 pm Post subject:
I've downloaded these files. I'll take a look at them later. Right now, my priority are some things for the university which I'm bad on their deadline. QUICK_EDIT
I'm going to investigate too. What I found strange when I was fidling around with XCC Mixer is that it crashed the 2-3 first times that I tried viewing the your shps, but after that I could view them without problems. hmn, idk. Anyway, I'll try opening them in OpenRA editor and see if that crashes too. Does the editor work for TS shps too? QUICK_EDIT
Hey Reaper, do you have steps to reproduce a corrupted shp?
I'd like them if possible.
-----------------
I know that even though XCC Mixer doesnt crash on td-shp-test1.shp anymore, it still reports smth in the Windows Event Log: FaultTolerantHeap. I don't know what it is, but I'll try to check into it.
Joined: 26 Apr 2003 Location: Somewhere in Germany
Posted: Thu Jul 03, 2014 4:37 pm Post subject:
Zaaz wrote:
Hey Reaper, do you have steps to reproduce a corrupted shp?
I'd like them if possible.
Hm, that's typical, with another shp I now couldn't reproduce it...
However, this file works with XCC Mixer and C&C95, but crashes OpenRA (with an Index out of array error).
This is probably at least partially OpenRA's fault for being less crash-proof in this regard since neither XCC nor C&C95 show any corruption or crashes with this file, however it's also a fact that OpenRA has no problems with any of WW's original shps, nor with any shps produced by XCC Mixer. So it has to be at least partially caused by something specific to files saved with SHP Builders' saving mechanism.
Also Known As: banshee_revora (Steam) Joined: 15 Aug 2002 Location: Brazil
Posted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 12:05 pm Post subject:
I've tested all these files with XCC Mixer and it works fine. It did not crash here.
However, OpenRA fails to decode one (or more) of their frames (index out of bounds issue) and it crashes. I don't know exactly what on SHP Builder's encode80 causes OpenRA to access an invalid memory address or allocates less RAM than necessary. I'd have to debug OpenRA to try to understand the problem. And that's something that I admit that I can't be bothered to do at the moment. QUICK_EDIT
Also Known As: banshee_revora (Steam) Joined: 15 Aug 2002 Location: Brazil
Posted: Sun Jul 27, 2014 7:00 pm Post subject:
OpenRA has a condition at 2 commands from their Format80 decoding function that... for me, it doesn't really make much sense:
Code:
if (srcIndex >= destIndex)
throw new NotImplementedException("srcIndex >= destIndex {0} {1}".F(srcIndex, destIndex))
In a certain way, it means that when a frame is not properly compressed (it is taking more space than it was supposed to take, the program closes with an exception. Of course that, in the ideal world, these frames were supposed to take less space than their uncompressed form, but programs like OS SHP Builder and even OpenRA itself (at least its code) save all frames using Format80. And that doesn't guarantee that these frames will take less space than their uncompressed form at all.
If i make OS SHP Builder save stuff with Format40 and 20, I think it would considerably slow down the program. It would need to compare the Format80 compression with Format40 using all previous frames, for each frame although we would be smart enough to make it start from the previous frame. I don't think it is worth the hassle or the gains in terms of file space for the save files.
It's better to check if these files load at OpenRA without this exception (that XCC Mixer doesn't have either). QUICK_EDIT
You can post new topics in this forum You can reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You can download files in this forum