Posted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 1:10 am Post subject:
CNC Maps Renderer rewritten - works for Tiberian Sun and RA2
Over the past Christmas break I have rewritten my map rendering tool in C#. This resulted in nicer, better and faster code, and as it turned out, filling the request of adding TS support wasn't much work either.
One more important update over the previous versions is that Voxels are now rendered. This happens in an OpenGL context which sadly requires me to ship a 2MB dll along, but this will change in the future.
I will be posting a full installer with updated GUI tomorrow, but for the brave ones a command-line version is already attached. On a final note, for now, .NET 4.0 is required. Here's two example renders:
Why not try it? Source code is at http://github.com/zzattack/ccmaps-net Last edited by zzattack on Sat Aug 31, 2013 3:43 pm; edited 1 time in total QUICK_EDIT
Joined: 18 Feb 2005 Location: Star Kingdom of Manticore
Posted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 3:20 pm Post subject:
Ah, okay I see it. It's just hard to see with the .jpg blurred up. Is it possible to render in .png or lossless .jpg? _________________ "Reality is a lovely place, but I wouldn't want to live there." -Adam Young QUICK_EDIT
Joined: 18 Feb 2005 Location: Star Kingdom of Manticore
Posted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 7:32 pm Post subject:
it's the command line version, brah. I don't do command line. _________________ "Reality is a lovely place, but I wouldn't want to live there." -Adam Young QUICK_EDIT
Also Known As: evanb90 Joined: 20 Feb 2005 Location: o kawaii koto
Posted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 7:03 am Post subject:
How on Earth did I miss this? Your contributions to this community are amazing. Extremely well done. _________________ YR modder/artist, DOOM mapper, aka evanb90
Project Lead Developer, New-Star Strike (2014-)
Former Project Lead DeveloperStar Strike (2005-2012), Z-Mod (2006-2007), RA1.5 (2008-2013), The Cold War (2006-2007) QUICK_EDIT
Joined: 18 Feb 2005 Location: Star Kingdom of Manticore
Posted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 7:13 am Post subject:
zzattack wrote:
Lossless JPEG? Tell me more!
It's basically a jpg with a compression ratio of 1:1.01 (or something similar). Photoshop does it. Larger file size. Not quite as big as .png though, which is true lossless. There is very very minor changes to the image due to the minuscule amount of compression. _________________ "Reality is a lovely place, but I wouldn't want to live there." -Adam Young QUICK_EDIT
Joined: 05 Mar 2007 Location: Less than 10 minutes from the internet
Posted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 8:22 am Post subject:
daTS wrote:
zzattack wrote:
Lossless JPEG? Tell me more!
It's basically a jpg with a compression ratio of 1:1.01 (or something similar). Photoshop does it. Larger file size. Not quite as big as .png though, which is true lossless. There is very very minor changes to the image due to the minuscule amount of compression.
Yep, I remember hearing about this from my dad long ago. He encouraged me to save with files as Tiff's if they needed to be lossless. However, they proved to be rather unused in most cases.
PNG is pretty widely accepted these days for lossless on the internet from what Ive seen. _________________ QUICK_EDIT
Need help guys. I tried this and it won't work at all. Every time I open it, the application errors comes out. It says, The application failed to initialize properly (0xc0000135). What's wrong with it? QUICK_EDIT
I will not lie...i am using the fact that there's no easy to start/idiot proof version of this out yet as to why i haven't finished up some of my map projects.
Of course that's far from the truth....but dammit it's good enough for me!
as for you Krow...
Quote:
but for the brave ones a command-line version is already attached. On a final note, for now, .NET 4.0 is required.
maybe that helps you understand that it's not a ready to go thing straight out of the package it comes in. You need to go through command-line stuffz to get it going. and well...like stated...it's for the brave ones....who don't mind messing with that. _________________ Kalistia Crestland (2)
In Soviet Russia, grass grows on tiberium! QUICK_EDIT
I am using .NET Framework and I click on the exe file, all I get is an EMPTY command prompt windows, then it *poofs* out, gone. Should there happen something?
I'm on XP SP3 (with .NET 4.0 ofcourse) _________________ QUICK_EDIT
Joined: 24 May 2004 Location: Flanders (Be) Posts:300000001
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 10:23 am Post subject:
Yep...
zzattack wrote:
Over the past Christmas break I have rewritten my map rendering tool in C#.
^ This means you need .net to run it now.
In my opinion as a programmer, you should get the .net framework anyway. Not installing .net is like not installing java... it's simply something you need to run programs. _________________ QUICK_EDIT
hrmm well the older version was simply just RA2/YR i do believe which is why this rewritten one needs the .net and commandline stuff to work properly as it's not completely set up yet.
Here's a grand idea...have you tried running the older version as Administrator? if not...try that...it surprisingly makes a lot of stuff work. _________________ Kalistia Crestland (2)
In Soviet Russia, grass grows on tiberium! QUICK_EDIT
right click it instead of left clicking on it and you should get an option in the list of things that says "Run As Administrator" _________________ Kalistia Crestland (2)
In Soviet Russia, grass grows on tiberium! QUICK_EDIT
Posted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 5:54 am Post subject:
Map render
I get a message about net frame, but I have read the posts and thought never mind, I went back to the old version. When I try using a map with custom tiles, i get nothing. Size of map is 215 by 200, but I use a 215 by 200 blank map I get a render. any thoughts? _________________ I am authorized to send out the TMP Studio, PM ME IF YOU WANT IT And check this out, these were sent to me for help with terrain and zdata help along with TMP Studio/Builder
I've figured out what caused the application error. I was wrong about the older version not requiring a .net framework, because it does need it and my .net framework was totally outdated. And thanks Ixith for helping. _________________
Team Black wrote:
interesting seeing your voxel work. They're still better than Aro's!
hrmm well figured i'd bump this up just to poke the ashes and put out the question...
Did this ever get a full program with GUI and the what not so that the not so brave and willing to go through command prompt people can use it?
seriously...i'd like to get a megamap produced the lazy way instead of the 'oh hey imma take a bunch of pictures and then line them up in an image editor' _________________ Kalistia Crestland (2)
In Soviet Russia, grass grows on tiberium! QUICK_EDIT
i cant get any of my maps to use this program. its not the size of my maps, but i think it can't read my new terrain, even though all tiles are in proper mix files and they are in the proper place _________________ I am authorized to send out the TMP Studio, PM ME IF YOU WANT IT And check this out, these were sent to me for help with terrain and zdata help along with TMP Studio/Builder
I can take a blank yuri map and render it, but not a fully made map...or did i miss that can't be used on Yuris _________________ I am authorized to send out the TMP Studio, PM ME IF YOU WANT IT And check this out, these were sent to me for help with terrain and zdata help along with TMP Studio/Builder
bah. well someone needs to be awesome and get the renderer that works for TS a nice GUI and the works so I can be lazy. _________________ Kalistia Crestland (2)
In Soviet Russia, grass grows on tiberium! QUICK_EDIT
Also Known As: evanb90 Joined: 20 Feb 2005 Location: o kawaii koto
Posted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 4:33 pm Post subject:
http://code.google.com/p/ccmaps/source/detail?r=18
"Updated GUI and Installer". _________________ YR modder/artist, DOOM mapper, aka evanb90
Project Lead Developer, New-Star Strike (2014-)
Former Project Lead DeveloperStar Strike (2005-2012), Z-Mod (2006-2007), RA1.5 (2008-2013), The Cold War (2006-2007) QUICK_EDIT
You can post new topics in this forum You can reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You can download files in this forum